Low Calorie · My Recipes

Asian Vegetarian Slop

I didn’t take any pictures! It’s ok, slop is not really picturesque anyway.

What is slop? Slop is basically a way to cook all your leftovers, like stir fry. Usually, there’s cabbage involved. Usually, there is also some sort of sausage or ground turkey or something, but Shanti doesn’t eat meat. So vegetarian it is!

Originally, for the protein, I was going to use black beans, since we have some canned black bean leftovers. But Asian tofu was on the meal plan for the day, and Shanti got started making that before I came home. Like the earlier tofu attempt, I used Minimalist Baker’s method of baked tofu. My sauce is:

  • 1.5 Tablespoon sesame oil
  • 1/4 cup soy sauce
  • 1/4 cup brown sugar
  • 1 teaspoon sriracha sauce
  • 2.5 Tablespoon almond butter

It cant definitely use more sriracha, and maybe a bit of ground almond for the texture.

For the rest of the slop, I used:

  • About 1 Tablespoon of rice bran oil
  • 1 yellow onion
  • 1 red cabbage (actually slightly less, and you can also use green cabbage)
  • 6 white mushrooms

I started by prepping the tofu (press, cube, bake, and marinate in the sauce).

Then I sliced a yellow onion and caramelized it in a tablespoon or so of rice bran oil. This basically means high heat and stirring occasionally.

When the onion is being cooked, I shredded the cabbage. (I actually had to look up instructions on The Kitchn, even though I feel like I should know it already.) I had about 1.8 oz of cabbage.

Separate the tofu from the rest of the sauce. You can probably use a slotted spoon. I just used my fork. When the onion is caramelized, add in the shredded cabbage along with the sauce that is not on the tofu. It’ll need to be cooked for a while, and the cabbage will give off a bunch of water. Make sure to stir it so everything gets coated with the sauce.

Slice up the mushrooms. When the cabbage is almost done (you can tell because it’ll be only slightly crunchy), add the mushrooms and cook together.

When the mushroom is done, pour all of it out of the pot into a giant bowl.

Pour the tofu with whatever sauce decided to come out of it into the now empty pot and cook it as you would with the Minimalist Baker recipe. You want to cook it separately because the cabbage gives off too much water and would make the tofu soggy instead of the nice almost-crunchy texture.

When the tofu is done, pour it into the bowl with the cabbage and stir it all together.

Shanti had it with rice. I had it with miracle noodles. It was super delicious, mostly because the sauce is so good. And other than the tofu thing, it was actually fairly easy to make. I would definitely make it again.

Makes 4 bulky servings, about 280 calories each. Shanti’s rice was about another 100 calories.

Leave a comment