Dessert

Apple Upside-Down Cake

The apple upside-down cake is the very first cake in Rose’s Heavenly Cakes. Originally, I wanted to make the pineapple upside-down cake, because it uses a cast iron skillet and looked like fun. But I bought pineapple chunks instead of pineapple slices. And we had extra apples. So apple upside-down cake it is.

wpid-wp-1447804748088.jpg

The cake itself is quite a bit involved, like most apple cake/pies are. It involves tossing the apples with the sugar, spices, and lemon juice and letting it sit. I accidentally tossed in all of the brown sugar instead of just part of it.

wpid-wp-1447804756352.jpg

I did not have a 9″ cake pan (it’s on my wishlist! maybe I’ll get some for Christmas, so I can do all of the 9″ cake recipes) so I used an 8″ pan. I worried that the apples looked not very even when I put it in there, but I didn’t actually need to worry. It is quite soft and cooks down quite a bit.

wpid-wp-1447804760331.jpg

Then the batter goes on, as if nothing happened.

wpid-wp-1447804752789.jpg

Straight out of the oven. My cake separated from the sides a bit. I don’t know if it’s supposed to do that. I cooked it on a pizza stone and used the cake strip along the edge of the pan. But because the cake strip is for a 9″ pan and I have an 8″ pan I think it probably wasn’t tight enough to do what it was supposed to do.

wpid-wp-1447804763513.jpg

Like I said, it still came out though. I admit that the orange on orange isn’t the best from a photography stance.

wpid-wp-1447804767172.jpg

Topped with walnuts!

Verdict

The apple is both sweet and tart, like you’d expect. The cake itself is quite bland, but I think that is why it is paired with the apples. Definitely delicious and was easily consumed by four people over two days. But it was kind of complicated to make.

I think maybe next time I will try the Apple Crisp and see if I prefer that.

Leave a Reply

