Dessert · Uncategorized

Apple Crisp

After the apple upside down cake, I thought I would try making an apple crisp. I liked the apple upside down cake, but it seemed like a lot of work when I just want some baked apple goodness.

Plus, Shanti’s mom had left us 5 baking apples, so I couldn’t let them go bad.

20151118-DSC00110

I found Rose Beranbaum’s Apple Crisp recipe online. It’s in the Pie and Pastry Bible book, but I don’t have that one (yet).

The good news is that yes, it’s significantly easier.

The bad news is that you need significantly more apples. So I spent a while peeling the apples and then waiting for them to soak in lemon juice and sugar anyway.

20151118-DSC00112

Once you get the apples prepared, though, it’s pretty smooth sailing. Just put the apples in the pan. And then put the topping on. And then bake it for a bit.

20151118-DSC00114

(Also, my new camera arrived!)

20151118-DSC00116

My only “complaint” is that it is a lot less filling than the apple upside down cake. For the cake, I only needed 1/8th of it to feel like I got a really good serving. With the apple crisp, I easily ate 3/8th of it and could easily have eaten more.

Needless to say, it was gone in two meals.

20151118-DSC00118

(That picture was taken after I had enough just for myself.)

It definitely would’ve been delicious with ice cream, but we didn’t have any and I was too lazy to go out and buy some.

Leave a Reply

