Breakfast Sweets · Dessert

Pumpkin Walnut Ring

We also got a three pack of pumpkin puree from Costco. (Well, since Shanti didn’t go, I got the pumpkin.) I love pumpkin in desserts. I’d already broken open a can to make the Protein Chocolate Chip Pumpkin Mini Cakes. So I thought I’d also make the Pumpkin Walnut Ring.

As a bonus, you don’t need a kitchen power tool to make it. It was super easy.

IMG_20151017_214507

Look at how beautifully it came out of the bundt pan.

It was also surprisingly delicious for such a simple cake. (Or maybe it was what I was craving.) I stole a slice while it was still warm and it was delicious. The walnut pieces give it just enough interesting texture, and the pumpkin keeps it nice and moist. The whole thing is delicious without being too sweet. The texture is bold without being a brute.

Definitely something I would do again.

IMG_20151017_224719

I think the chocolate walnut buttercream is suggested, and so is the cream cheese icing. I’d do it with one or the other as a replacement for pumpkin pie for Thanksgiving.

Or maybe not, because pumpkin pie is also a classic.

Leave a comment